Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Robert Aderholt Chairman Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Committee on Appropriations 2358-B Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Committee on Appropriations 1036 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

July 17, 2025

Dear Chair Aderholt and Ranking Member DeLauro:

As you craft the Fiscal Year 2026 Labor, Health and Human Services, Education and related Agencies appropriations bill, the undersigned Members urge you to maintain funding for the 988 LGBTQ+ Youth Specialized Services within the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Budget.

In 2022, SAMHSA launched the LGBTQ+ youth specialized services as a pilot program in coordination with the broader 988 lifeline. Since its launch, the line has received nearly 1.5 million contacts from LGBTQ+ youth through calls, texts, and online chats¹. In 2024 alone the LGBTQ+ service served over 600,000 crisis contacts, demonstrating both its necessity and impact².

Suicide is the second leading cause of death among youth aged 10 to 14, and LGBTQ+ young people are four times more likely to attempt suicide than their non-LGBTQ+ peers. It is estimated that one LGBTQ+ young person attempts suicide every 45 seconds³.

The LGBTQ+ Youth lifeline was designed to address this higher risk of suicide for this population. When an adolescent reaches out to the LGBTQ+ Youth lifeline, they can access specialized services from somebody who cares, who may have shared experience, understands where they are coming from, and is trained to address the unique situation LGBTQ+ youth may face⁴.

LGBTQ+ identifying youth can face distinct mental health issues rooted in rejection and social discrimination. In fact, of LGBTQ+ youth who reported they slept away from parents or were

² <u>https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cwyqlv7y31go</u>

³ https://www.thetrevorproject.org/resources/article/facts-about-lgbtq-youth-suicide/

⁴ https://www.nami.org/nami-news/nami-reacts-to-elimination-of-lgbtq-youth-specialized-services-in-988/

kicked out of the house, 40 percent were abandoned due to their identity and 28 percent of LGBTQ+ youth report experiencing homelessness or housing instability during their lives⁵.

Despite the need, a 2024 study demonstrated that 50 percent of LGBTQ+ youth who wanted mental health care in the previous year were unable to access it⁶. More than 80 percent say it is important that crisis services include a specific focus on LGBTQ+ youth⁷.

In the midst of a youth mental health crisis, we cannot afford to eliminate a critical, life-saving resource for LGBTQ+ youth, who face both higher risks and greater barriers to care. These young people deserve to speak with professionals who are trained and equipped to meet their unique needs.

Please maintain the lifesaving funding for the 988 LGBTQ+ youth specialized services so we can continue to serve LGBTQ+ young people across the country who are at an elevated risk of suicide and mental illness.

Sincerely,

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Fauls.tonly

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

sMatsu

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

⁵ https://www.thetrevorproject.org/research-briefs/homelessness-and-housing-instability-among-lgbtq-youth-feb-2022/

⁶ <u>https://www.thetrevorproject.org/survey-2024/</u>

⁷ https://www.thetrevorproject.org/survey-2021/?section=FindingSupport

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

per ance

Delia C. Ramirez Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

ah Elepheth Sarah Elfreth

Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Wilson Frederica

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

l She

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

LaMonica McIver Member of Congress

Laskeda flait

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

mosy Hackhan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

rettony.

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Lateefah Simon Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Ainde J. Jain

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Vina Dolate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

DIND Josh Gottheimer

Member of Congress

Eleano H. Noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Maxine Dexter Member of Congress

Troy A. Carter, Sr. Member of Congress

Enamici Suzanne Bonamici

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Andre Carson Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

esus & E

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Golden

fared Golden Member of Congress

3/ilin R. Kenting

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Bornie Watcond vlema

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Some

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Km

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernandez Member of Congress

Jason Crow Member of Congress

This Sylvia R. Garcia

Member of Congress

Cohe

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Mark Jahan

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Toollonder

Maggie Goodlander Member of Congress

Becca Balint Member of Congress

Ritchie Im

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

foher

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Tobis

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

R. Mcclue

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

d. Panio

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

liai

Angie Craig Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

r Chu

Judy Chu () Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Shomari Figures Member of Congress

Engent

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

ce Beatty

Member of Congress

Cleo Fields Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

site m

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

N Tokude

Ju Tokuda Member of Congress

Greg Landsman

Member of Congress

andall

Emily Randall Member of Congress

Suhas Subramanyam Member of Congress

Sarah McBride Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

chru

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Stanton

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

itas

Dina Titus Member of Congress

evin Mullin

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr Member of Congress

Jan Friedra

Laura Friedman Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragan

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

frelle 5. fr

Janelle S. Bynum Member of Congress

Derek T. Tran Member of Congress

Member of Congress

the house

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Luz MARivas Member of Congress

George Latimer Member of Congress

ed W. Lien

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

le Johnson

Julie Johnson Member of Congress

rea

Al Green Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

tanaunendi

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Katly Castor

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

a

Sam T. Liccardo Member of Congress

tim Himes

Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

X M

Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr Member of Congress

Page 11

\$ Jacobs Sar

Member of Congress

Rick Lanen

Rick Larsen Member of Congress